Three cheers for Anime!

Set sail with One Piece at MCPL~ We just got in season three’s 2nd and 3rd voyage. Reserve your copy today!

Or try out Superman/Batman Apocalypse where Batman discovers a mysterious teen-aged girl with super-human powers and a connection to Superman. When the girl comes to the attention of Darkseid, the evil overlord of Apokolips, events take a decidedly dangerous turn. Oooh, good fun, everyone!

Advertisements

Graphic Novel Ga-Ga

Mom’s Cancer by Brian Fies

Mom's CancerEisner Award Winner graphic novel about how a life-altering event affects an entire family than another Lifetime disease-of-the-week story. When freelance writer Fies finds out his mother has both lung cancer and a brain tumor, her attempts to fight the disease—including rounds of radiation and chemotherapy—pull her entire family into the struggle. Fies is gentle but honest in telling his story. He refrains from painting his mother as a saint, depicting her instead as someone getting through a horrible situation by refusing to acknowledge just how bad it is. Nor does he shy away from the more complicated emotions his mother’s health generates, including a sometimes heated rivalry with his two sisters (knowledgeable “Nurse Sis” and empathetic “Kid Sis”). Fies is most compelling when he finds insight in small details unique to his mother’s experience, such as the strength she draws from a leather purse her father made while confined in a tuberculosis sanitarium.- Adult GN

Fairy Tail 7 by Hiro Mashima

fairy tail 7GUILD WAR

Fairy Tail’s rival guild, Phantom Lord, has taken the competition to dangerous levels by smashing the Fairy Tail building and nearly killing three wizards. What is Fairy Tail’s response? A full-frontal assault on Phantom Lord! But this clash is all part of the Phantom Lord’s evil plot to capture a coveted prize.- YA GN

Shaman King 23 by Hiroyuki Takei

Shaman King 23Epilogue IV

Hao wants Spirit of Fire to consume the Golem for its mana…with young Salerm still inside! Yoh will do what it takes to save her, but also must fight off the Golem and the ghost of Ludsev’s father! With this many attackers, Yoh could seriously use the help of a friend–a friend like Joco and his powerful new Over Soul! – YA GN

Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation

Fahrenheit 451In 1953, Ray Bradbury envisioned one of the world’s most unforgettable dystopian futures, and in Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, the artist Tim Hamilton translates this frightening modern masterpiece into a gorgeously imagined graphic novel. As could only occur with Bradbury’s full cooperation in this authorized adaptation, Hamilton has created a striking work of art that uniquely captures Montag’s awakening to the evil of government-controlled thought and the inestimable value of philosophy, theology, and literature.

Including an original foreword by Ray Bradbury and fully depicting the brilliance and force of his canonic and beloved masterwork, Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 is an exceptional, haunting work of graphic literature. – YA GN

One Piece 19 by Eiichiro Oda

One Piece 19As a child, Monkey D. Luffy dreamed of becoming the King of the Pirates. But his life changed when he accidentally gained the power to stretch like rubber?at the cost of never being able to swim again! Now Luffy, with the help of a motley collection of pirate wannabes, is setting off in search of the “One Piece,” said to be the greatest treasure in the world… – YA GN

One Piece 20 byEiichiro Oda

One Piece 20

Showdown at AlubarnaWhen leaving Rainbase to head off the rebels in the capital city of Alubarna, Luffy gets pulled aside by Crocodile for some cozy one-on-one time! With only three minutes to fight, can Luffy take on the sand pirate on his domain?! The rest of the crew must help Vivi stop the rebels, but the formidable Officer Agents have been waiting for them at the city gates! Will Vivi be in time to stop the inevitable clash between the rebels and the Army?! – YA GN

Low Moon by Jason

Low MoonThe acclaimed graphic novelist Jason returns with his most eagerly awaited book yet, thanks to the inclusion of the title story, the world’s first (and likely last) chess Western. Originally serialized in 2008 to a huge audience in the New York Times Sunday Magazine “Funny Pages” section, “Low Moon” made Jason’s 2008 appearance at the MoCCA Arts Festival in Manhattan the talk of the prestigious show, catapulting the Norwegian star to a higher level of mass appeal. This 216-page hardcover book features five yarns – all brand new with the exception of the aforementioned “Low Moon,” which is collected into book form for the first time. The volume also includes deadpan, genre-warping tales of murder, revenge, and strained relationships. – Adult GN

Spent by Joe Matt

spent_coverIn the tradition of Bukowski and R. Crumb, his tale turns on his disgust with himself and all of humanity, and, like the greats, Matt entertains as he cringes. – Adult GN

Attention Prince of Tennis Fans~

We finally got the Prince of Tennis DVDs in. Season one and season two will be on the shelves shortly.

We also got a whole bunch of One Piece titles in, check out the new manga page for all the other new stuff we got in!

Remember guys, if you want to suggest a title for the manga or dvd collection, just leave a comment and let us know!